Blog

 RSS Feed

Category: One To Watch

  1. Kat's Review of Blood Feud by Anna Smith

    Posted on

    Anna Smith Blood Feud Synopsis: They came for her family. Now she's coming for them. This nail-biting thriller introduces Glasgow's newest gangland mistress, Kerry Casey - a gripping read perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers.

    Kerry Casey thought she'd made a life away from the dirty dealings of her gangster family. Her father wanted to make them legit - her brother Mickey had other ideas, and now it's got him killed. When Mickey's funeral turns into a bloodbath at the hands of a group of anonymous shooters and Kerry's mother is killed in the crossfire, Kerry finds herself at the head of the Casey family, and desperate for revenge.

    Running a crime empire is not a job she ever asked for, and not one she wants, but Kerry is determined to fulfil her father's wishes and make the Caseys go straight. First, though, she will find the men who murdered her mother, and she will take them down, no matter what it takes.

    Kat's Rating: 5/5

    Kat's Review: I admit when I relaised that Anna Smith had let go of Rosie Gilmour I was devastated. I knew that a new book was looming but who on earth would match up to Rosie Gilmour? Well I can assure you that the Kerry Casey certainly matches up and add to that the fact that the author has just created an absolutely outstanding book and I think we may well have a contender for the book of the year so far! Kerry Casey seems to be the start of a new sweries and what a hell of a book to start it off with.

    Kerry Casey is nothing like her Gangster family, she is a hot shot lawyer who has spent many years living in Spain. However when her brother Mickey is taken out as Kerry attends the funeral she has no idea she is in the middle of what he left behind. When her mother gets killed in the crossfire, Kerry has no choice but to take the reigns for the business. What she didn't realise is just how good at it she would be.

    The other character I loved in this book was Sharon and it made a real change for the women to be the head honcos and to see them building an empire. The additional characters we see are all part of this amazing book and they all made a lasting impression on me. I got a real feel for this etended family and literally am chomping at the bit wondering how long until the next book. I have always been a huge fan of Anna Smith especially her last series, but I have a sneaking suspicion that this series may well be even better!

    I read this in two sittings in just a day and a half and cannot WAIT to see the next book in the series. For those juts as impatient as me I would guess sometime early in 2019 but we can always hope for something sooner. Thanks for an absolute cracker of a read Anna, a truly wonderful book and for me the best this year so far!

  2. Kat's Review of Mystery at Maplemead Castle by Kitty French (Chaplewick #2)

    Posted on

    Synopsis: Maplemead Castle is crawling with ghosts, and the new owners need them gone. When Melody Bittersweet and the Girls’ Ghostbusting Agency arrive on scene, they quickly identify the troublemakers swinging from the chandeliers… literally.

    A century ago, stunning trapeze artist Britannia Lovell plunged to her death, and has done every night since. But did she really just fall, or was there something more to her demise?

    Forced to work with Leo Dark, her scoundrel ex, and infuriating, irresistible reporter Fletcher Gunn, Melody’s investigative powers are under strain (i.e. lost in a pink mist of lust and confusion). She needs her team on top form, but best friend Marina’s cake pipeline goes AWOL, assistant Artie’s distracted by a giant sausage roll, and the pug is scared witless by a lion.

    Somewhere, hidden in the castle, is a heart-breaking secret, but what will it take to find it? And is there a chance it could set Britannia free, or is she doomed to repeat her last fateful act forever?

    Kat's Rating: 5/5

  3. Kat's Review of The Skeletons of Scarborough House by Kitty French (Chapelwick Mysteries #1)

    Posted on

    Synopsis: Welcome to Chapelwick, a leafy English town in the hills of Shropshire, where chocolate fudge cake comes served with a side of murder.

    Scarborough House is haunted, and it’s not doing much for Donovan Scarborough’s investment portfolio. No one wants to buy a place with levitating crockery, or (the wrong kind of) rhythmic pounding throughout the night.

    Luckily, Melody “I-See-Dead-People” Bittersweet has just launched her own ghostbusting agency with best friend Marina, geeky, keen Arthur, and a one-eared pug called Lestat. They’re quick to take the case, even if it has already sort of (definitely) been given to Leo Dark, Melody’s rakish, despicable ex.

    Melody soon discovers the resident phantoms are three brothers, one who was murdered at twenty, while the others lived to old age. But did the family exile the right person, or did the true killer get away with it?

    Donovan Scarborough doesn’t care who solves the case. Whoever gets rid of the ghosts gets paid.

    Can Melody and her new crew untangle the mystery, and bring the brothers peace, before Leo? Or will his distracting sexiness and Melody’s bonkers family cause the agency to fall at its first hurdle?

    Kat's Rating: 5/5

  4. Kat's Review of Never Let You Go by Chevy Stevens

    Posted on

    Synopsis: Eleven years ago, Lindsey Nash escaped into the night with her young daughter and left an abusive relationship. Her ex-husband, Andrew, was sent to jail and Lindsey started over with a new life.

    Now, Lindsey is older and wiser, with her own business and a teenage daughter who needs her more than ever. When Andrew is finally released from prison, Lindsey believes she has cut all ties and left the past behind her. But she gets the sense that someone is watching her, tracking her every move. Her new boyfriend is threatened. Her home is invaded, and her daughter is shadowed. Lindsey is convinced it's her ex-husband, even though he claims he's a different person. But has he really changed? Is the one who wants her dead closer to home than she thought?

     Kat's Rating: 5/5 ... maybe even 6/5

  5. Kat's Review of Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses by Carole Matthews

    Posted on

    Synopsis: Christie Chapman is a single working mother who spends her days commuting to her secretarial job in London and looking after her teenage son, Finn. It can be tough just getting through the day but Christie has always found comfort in her love of crafting and any spare time she has is spent in her parents' summerhouse working on her beautiful creations. From intricately designed birthday cards to personalised gifts, Christie's flair for the handmade knows no bounds and it's not long before opportunity comes knocking. All of a sudden Christie sees a different future for her and Finn - one full of hope and possibility, and if the handsome Max Alexander is to be believed, one full of love too. It's all there for the taking.

    And then, all of sudden, Christie's world is turned upside down.

    Christie knows that something has to give, but what will she choose? Will she give up her dreams and the chance of real love? What price will she pay for doing the right thing? Can Christie find her happy ending in . . . Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses.

  6. Kat's Review of Paradise Prison by Faith Mortimer

    Posted on

    Synopsis: During a huge row, Gillian stands up to her abusive boyfriend. The consequences are horrendous and far-reaching. Terrified, she flees her home, seeking anonymity abroad while coming to terms with the outcome of her actions.

    In Portugal, Gillian meets Harry, a yachtsman, needing crew for his Atlantic Ocean-crossing. She applies for the job. Half-way into the journey, after confessing to her crime, Harry offers her refuge on an uninhabited island in the Caribbean which he says he owns.

    Confused and depressed, Gillian imagines this is the answer to her problems. She needs time to lie low and consider her options; confront the authorities or live in obscurity? Harry is offering the perfect hiding place…or is he? When things start going horribly wrong, she asks herself if she is alone on the island. But maybe the biggest question of all is why she gets the gut feeling Harry wants to keep her there at all costs? What happens when she says … no.

    Kat's Rating: 5/5

  7. Kat's Review of Little Girl Lost by Carol Wyer

    Posted on

    Synopsis: A perfect family hiding disturbing secrets. A killer who wants the truth to be told. A little girl in terrible danger.

    A teacher goes missing under suspicious circumstances and a man is murdered at a local reservoir. For Detective Robyn Carter, there’s no obvious link between the cases. But as she starts to delve into them, her investigations lead her to Abigail, perfect wife and mother to beautiful little Izzy. What was Abigail’s connection to the victims? And why is she receiving threatening messages from an anonymous number? 

    But as Robyn starts to inch closer to finding the killer, Izzy is abducted. Unless Robyn gets to the twisted individual in time, a little girl will die …

    Kat's Rating: 4/5

  8. BLOG TOUR: Love You to Death by Caroline Mitchell (Ruby Preston #1)

    Posted on

    Synopsis: Twenty years ago you were forced to give your daughter up. Now she’s back. Or is she?

    Women who’ve had to give up children for adoption are being killed. A knock at their front door begins a nightmare from which they will never wake up.

    Detective Ruby Preston and her team must hunt down a disturbed individual before someone else is taken. But just when they think they’ve made a breakthrough, Ruby receives a sinister email, and the case takes a terrifying personal twist.

    When bodies start turning up, staged in perfect, domestic scenes, Ruby realises they’re chasing the most frightening serial killer she has ever faced.

    Can Ruby catch the killer before they strike again? Or will her troubled past catch up with her first?

    Kat's Rating: 5/5