Blog

Key Guide

CTM = Crime, Thriller, Mystery Genre Authors

ROF = Romance and Other Fiction Authors

 RSS Feed

Category: CTM - Michael Wood

  1. Kat's Review of A Room Full of Killers by Michael Wood (Matilda Darke #3)

    Posted on

    Synopsis: Eight killers. One house. And the almost perfect murder…

    Feared by the people of Sheffield, Starling House is home to some of Britain’s deadliest teenagers, still too young for prison. Now the building’s latest arrival, Ryan Asher, has been found brutally murdered – stabbed twelve times, left in a pool of blood.

    When DCI Matilda Darke and her team investigate, they uncover the secrets of a house tainted by evil. Kate Moloney, the prison’s manager, is falling apart, the security system has been sabotaged, and neither the staff nor the inmates can be trusted.

    There’s only one person Matilda believes is innocent, and he’s facing prison for the rest of his life. With time running out, she must solve the unsolvable to save a young man from his fate. And find a murderer in a house full of killers…

    Kat's Rating: 5/5<BLOG_TOUR>

     

    Kat's Review: I am thrilled that there is a new release in the Matilda Darke series and this latest release was every bit as good as I was hoping it would be. Matilda is such a likeable character and along with her colleagues DC Rory Fleming, DS Scott Andrews and DS Sian Mills they make a fabulous team. They all have their quirks and together they are a team I love reading about. Matilda has her own issues, one of which is the terrible case that haunts her where she failed to find young Carl Meagan. In this latest instalment, this case rears its ugly head once more. However, Matilda and the team have more pressing issues such as solving a murder that has happened at Starling House. 

    Starling House has become an unwanted presence in Sheffield as it houses the Country's most dangerous teenagers. When one of those boys is found dead it opens up the other 7 inmates as well as all the staff as potential suspects. This in itself opens up many more threads to a complex and darkly weaved tale that frankly was nothing short of excellent! There are selected chapters written from each boys point of view and I must say that they make for disturbing reads. However, it also manages to make you feel like nearly every inmate in Starling House was the murderer as well as a few others!

    There were numerous threads that kept me hooked and the added element of Matilda's past cases keeping her in a state of suspended shock. She madly alternates between her grief and her mistakes all of which make for a character very much on the edge and risking everything to get results. The book is enticing and certainly enthralling and I can honestly say that I loved everything about this book. Matilda Darke (as well as her team) are becoming fast favourites for me and I cannot wait to see where else the series goes. Massively recommended for those that haven't tried out Michael Wood yet!

  2. Kat's Top Ten Books from 2016 - Crime, Thriller, Mystery

    Posted on

    So once again it's that time (well a little bit late for me but better late than never) where I review the books I have read in this genre over the course of 2016 and try to pick my ten favourites. I absolutely refuse to list them in any order, I just select 10 of my absolute favourites. These are books I would highly recommend.

               

  3. Blog Tour: Outside Looking In by Michael Wood (Matilda Darke #2)

    Posted on

    Synopsis: The second book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling new crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

    When elderly George Rainsford goes to investigate a suspicious noise one night, the last thing he expects to find is a bloodbath. A man has been killed and a woman brutally beaten, left for dead.

    The victims are Lois Craven and Kevin Hardaker – both married, but not to each other. Their spouses swear they knew nothing of the affair and, besides, they both have alibis for the attack. With nothing else to link the victims, the investigation hits a dead end.

    The pressure is on for investigating officer, DCI Matilda Darke: there’s a violent killer on the loose, and it looks like her team members are the new targets. With no leads and no suspects, it’s going to take all Matilda’s wits to catch him, before he strikes again.

    Kat's Rating: 5/5

    Kat's Review: I read the first in this series in February of this year so Matilda was very fresh in my mind. I was looking forward to reading the next instalment and seeing how things have gone for Matilda. Matilda is an extremely likeable character and one that I really enjoyed reading about in book 1. In book 2 she seems to have started to get herself together, however the reader has no time to dwell on that as you are thrown straight in with a gruesome murder scene. An elderly neighbour finds a horrific scene with one man dead and a woman brutally beaten and on deaths door. DCI Matilda Darke and her team are on hand to take the investigation to try and catch the killer.

    The two victims Lois Craven and Kevin Hardaker are both married and this opens up the door to numerous suspects and as the story unfolds more characters emerge as potential suspects. On the side of Matilda, we are reminded about her history and can see she is still struggling to come to terms with the loss of her husband a year previously. We see her personal battles both emotionally and professionally and I really felt that we are seeing more of the real her. This is always key to a series and I think Michael Wood has really stepped up to the plate and shown people how it should be done.

    The book itself has multiple layers and threads which kept me compellingly reading late into the night. Doubled up with recurring characters such as Matilda's colleagues DC Rory Fleming and DS Sian Mills and Darke herself you have the perfectly balanced book. The story is well paced and the chapters nice and short to keep the story moving. Just when I thought I had it all figured out, oh no...Mr Wood decides to mix things up again, even going as far as throwing extras into the Epilogue. All I can say is that it was a fantastic way to catch the reader right at the end and leaving them wanting more. I am massively impressed with this author and really do recommend him. Another brilliant book and I am so looking forward to the next one. 

  4. Kat's Review of For Reasons Unknown by Michael Wood (Matilda Darke #1)

    Posted on

    Synopsis: Two murders. Twenty years. Now the killer is back for more…

    DCI Matilda Darke has returned to work after a nine month absence. A shadow of her former self, she is tasked with re-opening a cold case: the terrifyingly brutal murders of Miranda and Stefan Harkness. The only witness was their eleven-year-old son, Jonathan, who was too deeply traumatized to speak a word.

    Then a dead body is discovered, and the investigation leads back to Matilda's case. Suddenly the past and present converge, and it seems a killer may have come back for more…

    KAT’S RATING: 5/5