Blog

 RSS Feed

Category: Anna Smith

  1. Anna Smith - List of Publications

    Posted on

    The Dead Won't Sleep (2011) Rosie Gilmour #1
    To Tell The Truth (2012) Rosie Gilmour #2
    Screams in The Dark (2013) Rosie Gilmour #3
    Betrayed (2014) Rosie Gilmour #4
    A Cold Killing (2015) Rosie Gilmour #5
    Rough Cut (2016) Rosie Gilmour #6
    Kill Me Twice (2016) Rosie Gilmour #7
    Death Trap (2017) Rosie Gilmour #8
    The Hit (2017) Rosie Gilmour #9
    Blood Feud (2018) Kerry Casey #1
    Fight Back (Due Feb 2019) Kerry Casey #2

  2. Kat's Review of Blood Feud by Anna Smith

    Posted on

    Anna Smith Blood Feud Synopsis: They came for her family. Now she's coming for them. This nail-biting thriller introduces Glasgow's newest gangland mistress, Kerry Casey - a gripping read perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers.

    Kerry Casey thought she'd made a life away from the dirty dealings of her gangster family. Her father wanted to make them legit - her brother Mickey had other ideas, and now it's got him killed. When Mickey's funeral turns into a bloodbath at the hands of a group of anonymous shooters and Kerry's mother is killed in the crossfire, Kerry finds herself at the head of the Casey family, and desperate for revenge.

    Running a crime empire is not a job she ever asked for, and not one she wants, but Kerry is determined to fulfil her father's wishes and make the Caseys go straight. First, though, she will find the men who murdered her mother, and she will take them down, no matter what it takes.

    Kat's Rating: 5/5

    Kat's Review: I admit when I relaised that Anna Smith had let go of Rosie Gilmour I was devastated. I knew that a new book was looming but who on earth would match up to Rosie Gilmour? Well I can assure you that the Kerry Casey certainly matches up and add to that the fact that the author has just created an absolutely outstanding book and I think we may well have a contender for the book of the year so far! Kerry Casey seems to be the start of a new sweries and what a hell of a book to start it off with.

    Kerry Casey is nothing like her Gangster family, she is a hot shot lawyer who has spent many years living in Spain. However when her brother Mickey is taken out as Kerry attends the funeral she has no idea she is in the middle of what he left behind. When her mother gets killed in the crossfire, Kerry has no choice but to take the reigns for the business. What she didn't realise is just how good at it she would be.

    The other character I loved in this book was Sharon and it made a real change for the women to be the head honcos and to see them building an empire. The additional characters we see are all part of this amazing book and they all made a lasting impression on me. I got a real feel for this etended family and literally am chomping at the bit wondering how long until the next book. I have always been a huge fan of Anna Smith especially her last series, but I have a sneaking suspicion that this series may well be even better!

    I read this in two sittings in just a day and a half and cannot WAIT to see the next book in the series. For those juts as impatient as me I would guess sometime early in 2019 but we can always hope for something sooner. Thanks for an absolute cracker of a read Anna, a truly wonderful book and for me the best this year so far!

  3. Kat's Review of The Hit by Anna Smith (Rosie Gilmour #9)

    Posted on

    Anna Smith - The HitSynopsis: Rosie Gilmour is hot on the trail of a ring of baby-sellers and people-traffickers. The problem is, her main suspect is a dead man. Or is he?

    A money-laundering accountant disappears in Romania. The hitman hired to disappear him is found dead in a Glasgow flat. And the owner of the flat, the accountant's widow, claims she knows nothing about it.

    Crime reporter Rosie Gilmour isn't convinced by Helen Lewis's innocent facade - she is convinced Helen was the one who ordered the hit on her husband, and she's going to prove it. But when she discovers that Helen's husband worked for a ring of gangsters selling babies from Romanian orphanages, her focus shifts. Now she has two sets of criminals to bring to justice - she'd better pray they don't catch up with her first.

    Kat's Rating: 4/5

  4. Kat's Top Ten Books from 2016 - Crime, Thriller, Mystery

    Posted on

    So once again it's that time (well a little bit late for me but better late than never) where I review the books I have read in this genre over the course of 2016 and try to pick my ten favourites. I absolutely refuse to list them in any order, I just select 10 of my absolute favourites. These are books I would highly recommend.

               

  5. Kat's Review of Death Trap by Anna Smith (Rosie Gilmour #8)

    Posted on

    Paperback: 432 pages

    Publisher: Quercus (6 April 2017)

    Language: English

    ISBN-10: 1784294837

    ISBN-13: 978-1784294830

    Synopsis: A SADISTIC KILLER IS ON THE LOOSE IN GLASGOW. Thomas Boag escaped from his first court appearance facing charges on a brutal murder. He's suspected in the disappearances of two other people. Now he's out for revenge.

    Rosie Gilmour, crime reporter, helped put Boag behind bars. It was her investigation that provided enough evidence to arrest him. Now she's watching her back.

    Rosie tries to distract herself with a new story: refugees trafficked into Glasgow and used as modern-day slaves - or worse. But this investigation soon leads her into dangerous territory as it takes her up against some of Glasgow's nastiest characters, and all the while, somewhere out there, Boag is laying his trap...

    Kat's Rating: 5/5

  6. Kat's Review of Kill Me Twice by Anna Smith (Rosie Gilmour #7)

    Posted on

    Synopsis: A beautiful model's death uncovers an ugly conspiracy stretching all the way to Westminster in Rosie Gilmour's darkest case to date. When rags-to-riches Scots supermodel Bella Mason plunges to her death from the roof of a glitzy Madrid hotel, everyone assumes it was suicide. Except that one person saw exactly what happened to Bella that night, and she definitely didn't jump. But Millie Chambers has no one she can tell - alcoholic, depressed herself and now sectioned by her bullying politician husband, who would believe her? And that's not all Millie knows. Being close to the heart of Westminster power can lead to discovering some awful secrets...

    Back in Glasgow, Rosie's research into Bella's life leads to her brother, separated from her in care years before. Dan is now a homeless heroin addict and rent boy, but what he reveals about Bella's early life is electrifying: organised sexual abuse in care homes across Glasgow. Bella had tracked him down so that they could tell the world their story. And now she's dead.

    As Rosie's drive to expose the truth leads her closer to Millie and the shameful secrets she has kept for so many years, it becomes clear that what she's about to discover could prove fatal: a web of sexual abuse linking powerful figures across the nation, and the rot at the very heart of the British Establishment...

    Kat's Rating: 5/5

  7. Kat's Review of Rough Cut by Anna Smith (Rosie Gilmour #6)

    Posted on

    Synopsis: When a young Pakistani bride falls to her death from a window, Rosie has to navigate the story with care, trying not to upset the girl's devastated family or the local Pakistani community. After talking to the family, however, Rosie becomes convinced that there is more to the story than a tragic accident, and that something is being kept from her and the police. Meanwhile, on the other side of Glasgow, Nikki and Julie, two prostitutes, find themselves in trouble when a client dies during an assignment and it looks like one of them is to blame. Their problems become far worse though, when a briefcase they steal from the dead man turns out to contain some very valuable rough diamonds and several fake passports. It's clear it belonged to some serious criminals, and now they have much more to worry about than a dead body. Investigating the Pakistani girl's death, Rosie has been talking to Laila, another young girl from the community, who has voiced her fears of being forced into marrying a much older man in Pakistan. When Laila disappears, Rosie is sure her fears have been realised. Then Nikki contacts her asking for help, and Rosie senses a parallel with her current case. Sure enough, as Rosie flies to Pakistan to try and rescue Laila, it becomes clear that the 'accidental' death, Laila's disappearance and the briefcase are all linked - and once back in Glasgow, she, Julie and Nikki discover just how much danger they are in...

    Kat’s Rating: 5/5

  8. Kat's Review of A Cold Killing by Anna Smith (Rosie Gilmour #5)

    Posted on

    Kat's Rating: 4/5

    Synopsis: Crime reporter Rosie Gilmour returns from hiding in Bosnia to a story of a brutal execution. University lecturer Tom Mahoney was shot at point blank range, the killing has all the signs of a hit. But who would want to kill a retired lecturer? Rosie throws herself into the investigation, looking for a witness that has gone missing. A witness that might hold the key to the story. But she has her own reasons to stay hidden. As Rosie digs deeper, she finds the story has connections to the Ministry of Defence and MI6 and Mahoney's past is darker than anyone could imagine. Rosie's running out of time to find out the truth, before Mahoney's killers silence her for good.